Discussion Week 14

 

What rights and responsibilities do you have to protect your privacy on the Internet?

By: Shelby Schroeder

This is an issue that has come up many times about the internet.  I remember back when I was in high school and middle school we actually had speakers come discuss how public the internet actually is, and how it makes you susceptible to many criminals whether they be sex offenders or people who are trying to steal your identity.  While this can make our parents pretty antsy about letting us “kids” go on the internet I overall think we are responsible for what we do on the internet.  i think we have to be smart about what we post and make sure that our Facebook is protected by passwords, and I think it’s smart to have strict privacy settings.  It’s really all up to the individual, if you want someone to see everything about you, that’s your decision.  I think it’s also smart to protect everything will good passwords, and make sure that we don’t go tell all our friends our passwords; you never know who they might tell.  Overall, I think websites have the options for us to have protected lives on the internet; it’s just up to the individual as to whether or not we utilize them.

One thought on “Discussion Week 14

  1. Shelby,

    I totally agree with you on your posting. I like how you mentioned that it was up to us to put the posting or information out on the Internet if we want too or decline if we do not want too. I mentioned that too in my posting. I like how you also mentioned that we can better protect our information if we use the privacy measures the websites provide and how it is up to us to see how much we truly use them. I thought you did a good job! God Bless!

    Austin M.

Leave a Reply

