Discussion Question Week 13

Based on your media log, and the kind of media you use on a regular basis, what are your responsibilities in using media?

By: Shelby Schroeder

My daily use of media mostly includes spending time on the internet, mostly on Facebook and simply browsing other websites.  Like every student here when I use a website  it is my responsibility to not plagarize material.  In the growing technology today it is very easy to steal someone else’s work or idea and get away with it; however I feel I have a moral and ethical obligation not to do this.  I also use Facebook a lot, this gives me the power to say or do anything to anyone I want in fact it gives everyone the power to.  I think it’s actually quite amazing how instant our communication can be with anyone in the world, and most of the time people use this in a productive or respectful way.  Sometimes people get out of hand though and don’t respect other people on social networking sites.  Overall, I believe all my media use can be summed up in this quote that I heard when watching Spiderman, “With great power, comes great responsibility.”

One thought on “Discussion Question Week 13

  1. Shelby,

    I love the ending quote that you gave! That fits really well. My main usage was the television but I also included the internet in my response. I thought you made a good point when you talked about how you can abuse the internet. I think of cyber bullying in that regard. I also have to think of the material people post out on social networks and how they may be used in news reports and in court. You did a great job! God bless!

    Austin Merritt.

Leave a Reply

