Discussion Question #13

Based on your media log, and the kind of media you use on a regular basis, what are your responsibilities in using media?

By: Marina Eggen

The media I use the most is the Internet.  I mostly use it for the entertainment side but I also use the Internet a lot for educational purposes.  I use it to aid me in my projects, papers, and everyday homework assignments.  It is such a helpful tool for me being a college kid with lots of homework to do and papers to write.  My greatest responsibility as an avid user of the Internet is to not plagiarize.  I need to give credit where credit is due.  If I use someone else’s work to help me finish my work, I need to cite their work or mention their name and what I used from them.  It is very easy to cite websites form the Internet, and it’s my responsibility to do so.  Sometimes I don’t even realize I am plagiarizing someone’s work because it is so easy now a days to copy and past from the websites to my word documents.  I just need to stay focused and cite all the sources I use no matter what.  Another responsibility I have as a media user is to respect the rights of copyrighted material.  I should not be stealing from any companies that have this material.  It is my responsibility to pay if I want the movie or song.  I should not be pirating movies just because I don’t want to have to pay for them.  It is somewhat easy to watch movies online on free websites, or download music without asking.  It is my responsibility to not do those things.

One thought on “Discussion Question #13

  1. Marina,

    After reading your post I began to wonder what it was like for our parents to write papers back in college. They didn’t have the instant help of the internet, I’m really thankful that I have such a great tool at my disposal! I liked that you brought up the idea that you shouldn’t steal music or songs, I didn’t think of that when I was writing my post, and thats a huge responsibility we all have! Keep up the good work!

    Shelby S

Leave a Reply

