Discussion Question #12

To what extent have your CJ105 concept definitions relied on copying definitions from Wikipedia and other Internet sources – is that plagiarism?

By: Marina Eggen

Up to this point I have only gone online to help me with my concept definitions twice.  The other definitions I used the book to aid me in my answer.  I can’t speak for everyone in the class but I frequently find all the information I need to write a good definition from the chapters in our textbook.  However, the most recent definition I wrote I relied heavily on the Internet.  I have never used Wikipedia for my definitions, but I did use other Internet sources.  I do not believe that using these sources as a reference is plagiarism.  As long as you are not copying the site word for word and claiming it is your own, I don’t think its plagiarism.  I do not know these concepts off the top of my head, so I need to go searching for the answer each week.  Sometimes that involves looking them up online, which (in my opinion) is the easiest way to find the answer.  All of these concepts come from some other place, and as long as we are not copying that other source word for word I don’t think its plagiarism.

Leave a Reply

