Discussion Week 12

To what extent have your CJ105 concept definitions relied on copying definitions from Wikipedia and other Internet sources – is that plagiarism?

By Jimmy Lavorato

Personally, in my concepts and definitions, I try to be as original as possible- conveying my own point of view and ideas. If there is a certain term or idea that I am unfamiliar with, I will search it to get a rough description of what it is. I see plagiarism as a word for word duplication of someone else’s work. It’s okay to cite a source, analyze that definition and then interpret the information using your own words and ideas. The information has to come from somewhere, it needs to be credited as to preserve the originality of the statement that follows it.

2 thoughts on “Discussion Week 12

  1. Jimmy,

    I liked how you said you like to be original in your definitions. I agree that what you’re learning has to come from somewhere, and it should be cited. It’s not like we come up with these definitions on our own, I think it seems right to cite sources. Your last sentence was really powerful! Keep up the good work!

    Shelby S

  2. Jim Jim!
    I agree with Shelby on the fact that you should cite where you received your definition from but that is the only thing I saw somewhat iffy with your post! Great Job Bud!!! Loved the last sentence for your information!

Leave a Reply

