Discussion Week 12

To what extent have your CJ105 concept definitions relied on copying definitions from Wikipedia and other Internet sources – is that plagiarism?

By: Shelby Schroeder

Generally I try to first read about my concept in the book, and then use online sources to help better explain my opinion of a topic.  I really like using things like Wikipedia because I feel like they can explain things in a more easily understandable way, however I don’t like to steal their definitions.  I think if you are taking your definition straight from Wikipedia then yes, I think it is plagiarism despite the fact that they aren’t protected by copyright law.  I think that you shouldn’t ever steal someone’s work, you should attempt to be as original in your definitions as possible, you will learn better by trying to teach it and coming up with a creative definition.

One thought on “Discussion Week 12

  1. Shelby, I really liked your answer this week as I do every week. I liked how you made a point to say that you first go to the book to find your answer and then use the Internet to polish off the definition. I also mentioned the book in my answer because I too go there first to find the definition to each concept. I liked your answer because you talked a lot about how its not plagiarism and people should try to “be as original as they can”. Over all, I’m a big fan of your work on this blog. Marina

Leave a Reply

