Discussion Question #10

Which of the five types of convergence media do you understand least – and how does it affect you?

By: Marina Eggen

I understand interactive the least.  All the other convergence medias are talking about one company using others, buying others, or having multiple divisions and devices with more then one use.  They all have to do with multiple companies or applications.  Then there is interactive convergence media, which just talks about the individual.  I don’t understand how it is convergence media.  Is it the fact that the individual can use many different kinds of media to relay a message?  Interactive media affects me because this type of convergence media has to do with the person, the individual.  I am the one using the interactive convergence media.  I don’t use corporate, operational, or multi-platform.  They affect me in a round about way but I don’t have that much personal interaction with these convergence medias.  With interactive, I’m supposed to be using interactive in my daily life (if I’m understanding this correctly).

2 thoughts on “Discussion Question #10

  1. Marina,

    I’m also pretty confused by interactive convergance. I did read about User-Generated Content in the textbook that seemed like it could be related to it! It talked about how we create media on Facebook or Myspace or a blog. I think You tube is a really great example of a place where people can create something and get it sent everywhere. We could even post a video we made on Youtube on our Facebook. But in all honestly I’m pretty confused aobut this too, I’m not sure if this is accurate at all!

    Shelby Schroeder

  2. Marina,

    After writing my discussion question, concept, and commenting, I have to admit I can’t remember interactive convergence that well right now. I wrote about user-generated, mobile, social media convergence. I have to agree with Shelby’s comment that it seems as if these two are pretty similar. I thought user-generated media convergence was weird because I thought that the companies should see the direct benefit and it seemed that the consumers benefited directly. I thought it was neat because I think we have the same reasons for not understanding the media convergence that we picked. I think I am in the same boat. I don’t mean that in any negative or bad way, but I see where you are coming from. Good job! God bless!

    -Austin M.

Leave a Reply

