Discussion Question 9

Describe an advertisement you have encountered that was personalized to you: What visual or text elements do you recall about the ad, and how did the personalization affect you?

By Austin Merritt

I was kind of confused when I was trying to figure out what I wanted to put for my example of an advertisement for this question. My roommate started talking about examples in his life and it spurred me to think about Facebook. On the side of Facebook’s page I see personalized adds that are very relevant to my life. For example, I see a picture of delicious food and an explanation to the side of it. The catch is that the title says, “Pizza Man Anoka”. I am currently in Eau Claire, Wisconsin but my hometown is in Anoka, Minnesota. Another advertisement I find is one that says “Vote No.” The reason that this advertisement correlates to me is that Minnesota is voting on two constitutional amendments this election cycle. One is for determining the definition of marriage and the other amendment is a voter ID amendment. In their picture advertisement they have two young teenage girls holding up a sign by their mouth. I see that they use young teenage girls to represent my age has a voice in this election. I also find it neat that they have it by their mouth as to say “You can say no.” The personalization in this advertisement is clever and well though out, but it does not affect me in a grand way. My views and beliefs on both amendments, and the fact that I voted early, outweigh the message they are trying to portray to me at this time. I like the advertisements that grasp your emotions. When I see the ASPCA commercial for homeless animals in shelters I feel my emotions well up. They play a sad song, show terribly sad pictures and ask for you to help. Bam! Convicted, though I haven’t contributed yet. For me, playing with emotions in an advertisement will grasp my attention to the message way more. You can play a song; show pictures, videos, etc. I would probably have a better feedback, but still minimal, since I do not often respond to every advertisement.

Image

Leave a Reply

