Discussion Question #9

Describe an advertisement you have encountered that was personalized to you: What visual or text elements do you recall about the ad, and how did the personalization affect you?

By: Marina Eggen

It feels like this advertisement’s target audience is me.  It’s for women who are athletes that don’t care what their body looks like as long as it accelerates them through their sport.  The ad focuses specifically on knees.  I have a very close connection to knees because I had surgery on my left one and was out from my sport of 8 months.  Now that I’m healthy I don’t care what my knees look like as long as they are healthy too.  The visual element was the picture of the scarred, skinned up knees for all to see.  I have an ugly scare on my left knee and I’m not afraid to show it off.  The text element of the ad is really what seems to be personalized for me too.  It describes my family, my personality, and my idea of a great man.  Even though my sport is not soccer I still feel a strong personal connection to this ad.  How did the personalization affect me?  Well, let’s just say my running shoes and flip-flops are Nike, I have an entire running outfit that is Nike, and 3 shirts that are Nike.  I would say that ad along with other Nike ads have been very effective on me.

Here is the Picture of my ad

 

Leave a Reply

