Week 8 Discussion Question

Based on the concepts from Unit 2 or from the textbook, explain why your most favorite or hated ads had an influence on you. What was it that worked – or didn’t work?

Well looking at the ads I chose as my favorite and most hated I think the reasons they worked were pretty obvious.  The advertisement I liked about how it’s good to send a letter had a really simple slogan.  This plain-folks pitch made me associate sending a letter with a really good feeling- happiness. It doesn’t us a famous- person testimonial or snob-appeal approach so I can really relate to what they’re trying to say.   The ad that I really hated used puffery, which is when an ad featuring an exaggeration about a product that cannot be proven true or false. The ad tried to make you believe that your wrinkles would instantly vanish.  I really dislike when advertisers do this.  Can you really prove that your product is the greatest? I believe consumers have become smarter than this, there’s no reason to continue to try to lie to people who watch commercials. An ad can be honest and eye catching at the same time.

Shelby Schroeder

Leave a Reply

