Discussion Question Week 6

How would you explain to your parents what public relations is?  Provide an example to help them understand.

Public Relations can be a difficult thing to explain. So to explain it to my parents I would make sure I had their full attention.  To describe the concept of public relations I would first explain that it is in fact hard to explain! But honestly this is true because so much of what public relations people do is behind the scenes. They write speeches, but don’t actually deliver them. They pitch stories but journalists write them. Overall I would tell my parents to remember that PR helps create the image of the company. They help the company communicate with people, companies, employers and legislatures.  For example I would say that anytime you see a news story and see people being interviewed, generally it is a PR person who lines up the interview. In my opinion if you don’t know that public relations exist then they’re doing their job well.

4 thoughts on “Discussion Question Week 6

  1. Dear my lovely Shelby, I very much enjoyed you answer this week as I always enjoy your answers to the discussion questions. I giggled a little bit when you went on about your parents in the beginning. They seem like nice people already! After that the definition was well thought out and the example you gave was helpful. The part about speeches, journalist, pitches, and not delivering the speeches was a good idea to put it. It really emphasizes what they do. Good job! From, Marina Mari Eggen.

  2. Shelby,

    This was a very interesting way to look at PR, especially when explaining it to parents. I like the idea of how you said that PR are basically “hidden” or in the background so it’s not uncommon to be unaware of their efforts. Keep it up!

    -Jimmy

  3. Shelby,

    You put an interesting twist to my understanding of public relations. I thought it was neat how you talked about them being hidden from the public. I never thought of it that way. I like how you mentioned that public relations communicates with the public and companies. I also liked how you mentioned that public relations create the image of the company. Good job!

    Austin M.

  4. Shelby, Shelby, Shelby. Once again you have done a wonderful job with the job at hand! I enjoyed the part at which you said PR was “hidden” along with the snippet on how public relations communicates with the people and companies around us. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

