Concept Week 5: Documentary

By Jack-John Junker.

Concept: Documentary

Definition: A long-form recorded examination of a social problem or historical subject. (Critical Thinking in Communication, 202)

Jack’s simplified definition: A story of one’s past or a certain event that happened. Usually historically accurate to what it is related to. Can range from a television show, movie, book, pamphlet, etc…

Example: I remember back on the 11th of September in 2001, I was sitting in my second grade class waiting for the rest of the class to finish their math test when the teacher from the next room rushed into the room saying “Turn on the TV!”. My teacher did so and everyone in that class stared at the television screen as we saw the smoking towers after Flight 11 had impacted the first one at 8:46 a.m. Now why do I bring up 9/11? Simple because this is a prime example of a situation that is made into a documentary. I recommend watching the video on the link. It might just get to you just as it has gotten to me.

TDPUK. “102 Minutes That Changed America – 9/11 September 11th – [ Full Documentary ].” YouTube. YouTube, 23 Sept. 2011. Web. 04 Oct. 2012. <http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f8ZmMtXQ3gM&gt;.

One thought on “Concept Week 5: Documentary

  1. Jack,
    I think it is cool how you talked about or used a documentary that you actually remember happening in real life. I thought that was cool. I like how you used Jack’s simplified version. Good job!

    -Austin M.

Leave a Reply

