Discussion Question #5

By: Shelby Schroeder

What is news, how does it affect you, and would you pay any attention to this news if you were not enrolled in CJ105 right now? Be specific in providing a recent example in the news in the past month.

To me, news is a report of something that has occurred in the world. It can be anywhere from a major earthquake that occurred in another country to something as simple as a lady’s cat from down the street is sadly stuck in a tree.  When I think of news in general though it’s something that I see when I watch a local news station or read something in the paper.  I think sometimes news has a great effect on me and other times little or no effect.  Sometimes I completely ignore news and am shocked to find when something has occurred in the world. I don’t generally watch the news, I hear about events from other people normally.  I think the most important thing to remember about news is that the closer an event is to you, the more it means to you.  For example, I feel bad for people who experience an earthquake in China, but I would feel worse about a tornado that occurred in my town or a town over from me.  It’s all about what news is relative to you.  If I was not in CJ105 I would probably not pay as much attention to the news as I do, but I think it’s impossible to fully escape the news.

This is an example from YouTube of a local news anchor near my hometown who stood up against bullying.  She had been bullied by a man who sent her an email calling her obese.  Because I know this news anchor, I look up to her and am really happy that she stood up for herself.  I couldn’t ignore this news, because all my friends were posting on Facebook about this hometown hero! She will soon appear on Ellen!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rUOpqd0rQSo

3 thoughts on “Discussion Question #5

  1. Dear Shelby, I absolutely love how complete all of your answers are. You go into enough depth so everyone can understand but not in depth too much. You are also very good at writing. I like the way you write. Specifically for this discussion question I liked your definition of news and the example. You always go above and beyond! Keep up the great work. From, Marina

  2. Shelby,

    I like how you mentioned that news has a wide range of possibilities. I also liked how you talked about the distance the news occurs from you may affect how you react to the news. I thought you did a great job.

    -Austin M.

  3. The matter on which the distance the news occurs from you may affect how you react to the said news is a great example of how one sees as important news to just news. It is kind of like the house fire that happened her in Eau Claire, Great job Shelby!!

Leave a Reply

