Discussion Question Week 4

In organizations you have been part of, what communication have you experienced that was particularly effective – be specific. What was the communication and how did it persuade you?

By Austin Merritt

Types of communication within organizations vary significantly. One organization I was a part of was being a regular attendee of my church. In our church our pastor was our lead spokesman. He would portray a message to the congregation through different means of communication. He would use verbal and nonverbal communication to present his message to the congregation. For example, if something was being stressed the pastor would raise his voice and deliver his message with use of body language. To me this is effective. Everyone has a different learning style. People may be a confluent learner, technical reasoning learner, etc. For me to stay entertained and focused, my pastor was effective in his portrayal by using hand gestures and changing his tone of voice and grasping my attention. That is not to say that all pastors, priests, and teachers use the same delivery for communication. But by being active in portrayal, they can grasp my attention easier. Again, not to say I don’t get distracted throughout various messages.

On my high school football team I remember playing our biggest rivals. I went into play, as a backup, on the defensive side of the ball. As the play started, I went to a spot on the field that was not mine and left my assigned gap open. The running back ran to my assigned area and scored upon us. As I ran back to the sidelines, my coach was waiting for me. He pointed what I did wrong and showed me the importance of my mistake by raising his voice. At first I did not find it effective because I did not want to be in that situation, but looking back I see how it can be effective. By raising his voice and mixing emotions together, my coach was trying to stress the point and make a quick change about it. Not something where we can brush it under the rug and fix it next week. We need it changed and we need it now. My coach and I got along really well and we joke with each other during class all the time. I think the most effective communication depends on your learning style. For me, I prefer a nice easy-going talk but other people need verbal slaps in the face.

3 thoughts on “Discussion Question Week 4

  1. By: Shelby Schroeder

    Austin,

    I really liked that you had 2 responses which were very different from each other. I agree that the leader of an organization like a pastor or teacher needs to really “perfect” the way they communicate because they have so many people relying on them. I know that I once had a pastor that was very good at grabbing the attention of the congregation, while another one made me fall asleep, so I never truly captured his message. I would suggest reading Peter G’s discussion: http://sexysix6.wordpress.com/category/unit-3-discussion/ he had a similar response as your football response. He talks about how sometimes yelling at a person is the only way to get the point across.

  2. Austin, I liked the fact that you had two very different examples with the same general message. It takes all forms of communication to relay a message to all forms of groups, weather it be in church or on the field. I can relate to both of your responses too so i really liked it. Good Job

  3. Austin, the two responses provided to the question gave it a genuine feel. The fact that you were able to show that communication is in all forms of groups. Great Job buddy and keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

